Magellan-Logo

[EN] [DE]

Home

Download

Magellan 2.x ·  
Magellan 1.x ·  

Feedback & Support

F.A.Q.

Documentation

Plugins

Alliance Plugin ·  
Extended Commands ·  
FoW-Update Plugin ·  
Lighthouse Plugin ·  
MapCleaner Plugin ·  
MapEdit Plugin ·  
MapIcons Plugin ·  
MemoryWatch Plugin ·  
Statistics Plugin ·  
Teacher Plugin ·  

Tools
Console Merger ·  

JavaDoc

Report a bug

SourceForge

What is Magellan?

Magellan is a full-featured client tool for the play-by-e-mail game Eressea, Allanon and other PBeM. It displays a map of your part of the Eressea world, supports you in writing orders, performs many complex calculations for you and is available completely in English.

What is Magellan 2.x?

Magellan 2.x is a logical progression of the Magellan client. The changes in the software were so extensive that we decided to give it a new, much higher, version number.

Magellan Desktop

Magellan 2.x now needs, contrary to Magellan 1.x, Java6 (1.6.0 or higher). Additionally it is now a JAR file that has a setup that unpacks and installs the whole application on your computer. The application is now split into multiple files, so you're able to change texts and icons as you want.

Magellan 2.x also offers some new features. With the help of the Infonode Docking Framework you can now customize your Magellan desktop to your own tastes and needs with a single mouse click. You don't need to edit any configuration files anymore. Furthermore Magellan 2.x now has a split code structure, which makes it possible to develop server or console applications without a graphical user interface.

What is Magellan not?

Magellan is only one among many other client programs for Eressea and is in no way related to the developers of Eressea. To relieve them of unnecessary work please contact the Magellan Community in case you have any questions or problems.

Can I Run Magellan on My Computer?

Magellan is built using the platform independent Java technology and therefore runs on MS Windows, Linux, MacOS X and some other operating systems. However, it requires a rather powerful machine, especially when your faction grows bigger. The minimum system requirements are a 450 MHz processor and 128 MB RAM, but 800 MHz and 512 MB RAM are recommended. For Magellan, Java 1.6 or newer is required.

Java? What's That?

Java is a platform independent programming system. Actually, you do not really have to worry about that. After installing Java on your computer once, all you need is to download Magellan. Consisting only of a single file, you can run it like any other program from then on.

Is Magellan a Quality Product?

Well, for one thing, Magellan was able to achieve Enno's Seal of Excellence. According to the Eressea poll in December 2001 Magellan seems to be by far the most popular tool among the Eressea players.

Is Magellan Up-To-Date?

Magellan is an open source project with a bunch of developers ensuring that adaptations to the latest Eressea features are always available quickly. Also, the users form an integral part of the Magellan development process by bringing in enhancement requests and new ideas: (Feedback)

Magellan-Logo

[EN] [DE]

Home

Download
Magellan 2.x ·  
Magellan 1.x ·  

Feedback & Support

F.A.Q.

Dokumentation

Plugins
Alliance Plugin ·  
ExtCmds Plugin ·  
FoW-Update Plugin ·  
Lighthouse Plugin ·  
MapCleaner Plugin ·  
MapEdit Plugin ·  
MapIcons Plugin ·  
MemWatch Plugin ·  
Statistics Plugin ·  
Teacher Plugin ·  

Tools
Console Merger ·  

JavaDoc

Fehler melden

SourceForge

Was ist Magellan?

Magellan ist ein vollständiger Client für Eressea, Allanon und andere PBeM. Man kann damit seine Karte anzeigen, Suchen, Befehle geben, und überhaupt braucht man das Programm fast nur noch zu verlassen, um Mails an die Verbündeten zu schreiben. Fast.

Was ist Magellan 2.x?

Magellan 2.x ist eine konsequente Weiterentwicklung des Magellan Clients. Die Änderungen an diesem Client sind so umfassend, dass wir uns entschlossen haben, eine neue Versionsnummer zu vergeben.

Magellan Desktop

Magellan2 benötigt, im Gegensatz zu Magellan1 nun Java6 (1.6.0 oder höher). Außerdem handelt es sich bei der angebotenen JAR Datei nun um ein Setup-Programm, das den Client auspackt und auf Deinem PC installiert. Das Programm ist nun aufgeteilt in viele Dateien. Das bietet Euch recht einfach die Möglichkeit, Texte oder Icons an Eure Bedürfnisse anzupassen.

Außerdem bietet Magellan2 noch einige Besonderheiten. Mit Hilfe des Infonode Docking Frameworks ist es nun möglich, die Oberfläche von Magellan seinen eigenen Bedürfnissen via Mausklick entsprechend zu gestalten, ohne auf Konfigurationsdateien zurückgreifen zu müssen. Darüberhinaus verfügt Magellan2 nun über eine getrennte Code-Struktur, um Server- oder Konsolen-basierte Anwendungen zu ermöglichen, ohne eine GUI Oberfläche haben zu müssen.

Was ist Magellan nicht?

Magellan ist nur eines von vielen Client Programmen für Eressea und steht in keinem Zusammenhang mit dem Eresseateam. Bitte wende dich daher bei Fragen und Problemen an die Magellan Community.

Läuft Magellan auf meinem Rechner?

Dank Java läuft Magellan auf MS Windows, Linux, MacOS X und diversen anderen Betriebssystemen. Benötigt wird allerdings ein etwas leistungsfähigerer Rechner, gerade wenn die Partei wächst. Die Mindestausstattung liegt bei einem Prozessor mit 450 MHz und 128 MB Hauptspeicher, empfehlenswert sind jedoch 800 MHz und 512 MB Hauptspeicher. Magellan läuft ab Java 1.6.

Java? Das kann ich nicht!

Kein Problem, das ist auch nicht nötig. Nach der einmaligen Installation von Java braucht man nur noch Magellan herunterladen - eine Datei, die man im Windows-Explorer per Doppelklick starten kann. Mit Programmieren in Java hat das alles nichts zu tun, damit müßen sich nur die Entwickler herumschlagen.

Ist Magellan gut?

Nun - immerhin konnte Magellan inzwischen Ennos Seal of Excellence einheimsen.
Laut der Spielerumfrage Ende 2001 scheint Magellan außerdem das bei den Eressea Spielern beliebteste Tool zu sein.

Wie sieht's mit der Weiterentwicklung aus?

Magellan ist ein Open-Source Projekt, an dem sich mehrere Entwickler beteiligen. Dadurch ist sichergestellt, dass Anpassungen z.B. an Änderungen im CR immer sehr schnell umgesetzt werden. Durch Vorschläge und Hinweise können die User neue Ideen einbringen und Einfluss auf existierende Features nehmen. (Feedback)